Misguided Views And Attitudes: The German War Bride

This is one of the original German letters written during WWII.

This is one of the original German letters written during WWII.

This blog has been honored with a unique historical opportunity. It is to share letters written by a WWII German war bride to her beloved husband. These letters capture images of a time long ago. They give us a face to German life and war that perhaps our own history books have not shed a light on. Her masterful letter writing spans five years. These correspondences are one-sided since the husband’s letters were burned, but we do hear through the wife’s voice pureness that transcends time.
During the next several decades after WWII, daughter and mother discussed those letters at different intervals. He never returned home and his body was never found. The author of those letters loved her husband more than life itself and never remarried. She cried insufferably at times to her daughter. When it seemed so unbearable for her to go on, The daughter finally said, “burn them.”
As time went on, the mother did get rid of the letters that were written by her husband. She did not destroy the ones she had written to him. As you travel along with these excerpts, remember that by the end of the war the German women outnumbered their counterparts by over 7 million. The atrocities of Hitler’s regime impacted everyone.
The letters not burned were preserved by that daughter.

Letters of a German bride-excerpt one:

February 20th, 1944 ( historical fact we know is that American and Russian forces were advancing on Germany.)

“My beloved Willy – our sweet, dear Vati! The days are passing here in anxious anticipation of what the future will bring. Whatever it is, my love, we must accept it. We cannot change the course of this mighty occurrence in this troubled time. We feel that something big will happen, feel that all this will come to an end soon. In my heart I hope that it will end well. It would be hard to understand that our great Germany will fall. This great nation, so strong – no I can’t and won’t believe that. I wish, and this is egotistical of me, that we will survive this war, that it will have a good ending for us, Willy, that I can again wrap my arms around you, be happy with you and my children, and be safe. Do you think this is too much to ask for? My heart is so homesick for you and I long to let you be strong for me again, protect me and spoil me. I need you so much – you are missed everywhere!”

20 thoughts on “Misguided Views And Attitudes: The German War Bride

    1. alesiablogs Post author

      I have been given a unique opportunity to share from these letters. I have not figured out the best way to share so I have thought the best for me is to write from the heart and when a part of a letter touches me–share it. There are many letters and excerpts I can share. I suppose starting in chronological order would have been good, but it is my hope that each post can stand on its own merit. Thank you for your comment.

      Reply
    1. alesiablogs Post author

      Hi Dawn,

      I really appreciate your comment! I plan to do a weekly post. I hope in some way people will see a different view of the German woman and post war difficulties that have happened throughout the cold war and beyond. Time will tell how this will be completely received. We are almost a generation removed from this cruel war, but many of the children of the soldiers live on and know the pain of the loss of their fathers. God Bless you. Alesia

      Reply
  1. Dawn

    Our children have some German on both sides, and our daughter married a wonderful man from Germany. Seventy years after the war, many Americans still seem to connect Germans with Hitler. Interesting what comes to mind showing how deep stereo types run.
    My maternal Gramma was of Irish decent. She grew up during a time that many American’s hated the Irish. Her father told her that when people ask her nationality she should tell them, “I’m a Yankee.”

    Reply
    1. alesiablogs Post author

      Dawn,
      That is such an interesting perspective. America is a huge melting pot and so much prejudice still exists. Yet we have come so very far indeed. Thank you, Alesia

      Reply
    1. alesiablogs Post author

      Yes. I did. I have been working on this series and thinking through how to present this in a way that folks would find it captivating. There are so many stories I could share with the letters , but I want to bring clarity to the writings as I ponder each post. I suppose chronological order would have been best , but it was not how I felt I wanted to share it. Maybe one day if I can get more posts up a order to them could be done. I just hope to bring honor to the family.

      Reply
  2. marbee

    It’s so sad that the German people really had no idea of the atrocities committed by Hitler. Would they still have been so proud of Germany I wonder? Will we one day be so proud of America when we find out our leaders have been following a path that leads to our destruction? Or will we rebuild on freedom like Germany did. I can only hope our own “walls” of repression are town down.

    Reply
    1. alesiablogs Post author

      I can not even begin to think what the German people really thought except to merely survive. It was desperate times. I am glad to hear from you on here. I hope you enjoy this series. I will be posting more from these letters. It truly is a mirror into a world so many of us never would have thought about if not for letters like these…Happy New Year Miss Marlene!!!

      Reply
  3. hilarycustancegreen

    This chimed strongly with me, as I have my mother’s letters to my father when he was a Far East POW. He was one of the lucky ones and came home bringing the letters he had managed to preserve. Were your mothers letter returned by someone, or did she keep copies?

    Reply
    1. alesiablogs Post author

      I will explain more about how the letters came into possession of my friend (her daughter). These letters were share with me to share on my blog. I will have another post up soon. Happy New Year!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

