Ignorance

Is it possible that ignorance is that bad ?  After the last few years, I have contemplated that word and its ramifications. 
Here is my take on life through the eyes of ignorance. The real problem is not ignorance, but it is “knowing” to what extent we do not know. 

Recently, I began a conversation with a friend about current affairs. I like to keep it brief because there are so many other topics I prefer . We decided we need to have understanding and find out as much as we can about a subject if possible . 

How do we do that?  I devised in my own ignorance a few steps to assist me.

1.   Try to gain knowledge when possible.  Go to resources you can trust for information. 

2.   Do not turn away from what you do not want to hear because you are uncomfortable with it . 

3.   Remind yourself ignorance in of itself is no excuse. 

Do not allow yourself to be bogged down by not seeking truth. Enlighten yourself. Believe in yourself. If we find truth and practice it, this will speak volumes to others.

The question is not wrapped up in ignorance when you live your life how you think it should be lived. It is a world view based off many factors. I like to think I have come a long way baby , but the truth is my ignorance still gets in the way. At least , I will acknowledge that. 

God bless all and Go Vote!

10 thoughts on “Ignorance

  1. Michelle at The Green Study

    I think true wisdom is understanding that there is much we don’t know and won’t ever know. This would go a long way towards people becoming less entrenched in their own views. The people who “know” they are right are more scary and dangerous than those who recognize their own ignorance.

    Reply
  2. Jane Fritz

    Oh, Alesia, what an important topic. It is so difficult at the moment because there is so much wilful ignorance, declared in strong, confident, and defiant voices. Therefore, making sure we get the real facts is critical but not easy. What a tangled web we’ve woven. Nice post!

    Reply
  3. donna213

    I know I have worked hard to be knowledgable on current affairs, but have not found a path which to pursue at this time. The whole political institution seems troubling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

